

Warsaw University of Technology

HISTORY

Warsaw University of Technology is one of the oldest technical schools in Europe and in Poland. Its traditions date back to 1826 considered to be the date of establishing technical education in Warsaw. The initiator and author of the curriculum of the Preparatory School for the Polytechnic Institute was Stanisław Staszic. On January 4th, 1826 the opening ceremony of the Preparatory School for the Polytechnic Institute took place at the Kazimierzowski Palace.

The School had all the attributes of a technical university, similar to the leading European polytechnic universities. Unfortunately, the outbreak of the November Uprising in 1830 prevented its further development. It was only in 1898 that Tsar Nicholas II agreed to build a Polytechnic Institute in his name: Tsar Nicolas II Warsaw Polytechnic Institute.

The Polytechnic Institute was designed by Stefan Szyller and Bronisław Rogójski, two Warsaw's most eminent architects at the fin de siècle. The ceremony of laying cornerstone to the Main Builiding took place on September 1899. The building was raised on a pentagonal plan with three courtyards, being a flagship example of monumental architecture of late historicism. Students began their studies at three faculties: Mechanics, Chemistry, Engineering & Construction. In 1902 the fourth faculty was opened – the Faculty of Mining.

On November 15th, 1915, teaching began in Polish and the University started to operate under its current name: Warsaw University of Technology. The first rector was Zygmunt Straszewicz. To commemorate this fact, this day is the Day of Warsaw University of Technology. In 2015 we celebrated the centenary of teaching in Polish. In 2026 Warsaw University of Technology will celebrate 200 years of existence since the establishment of the Preparatory School for the Polytechnic Institute.

Warsaw University of Technology is one of the leading universities of technology in Poland and one of the largest in Central Europe. It employs over 5000 employees. The student body numbers is about 22 000. There are 19 faculties covering almost all fields of science and technology. Warsaw University of Technology has its Branch in Płock with the College of Economic and Social Sciences - an integral part of Warsaw University of Technology.